PDA

View Full Version : Who's Funding Claria/Gator? Yahoo!


Roadblock
07-12-2004, 01:01 PM
Source: PCPitstop (www.pcpitstop.com) Newsletter

There's a good chance that you have a copy of a Claria Corporation (formerly Gator Corporation) product on your system. And if you're like a lot of PC Pitstop visitors, you aren't quite sure how it managed to get there. We've written about all the reasons why we think that Claria/Gator products aren't good for your system. So why does this mediocre adware continue to thrive? One big reason is Yahoo's Overture group, which provides about one-third of Claria's income! There are several other big names behind this leading purveyor of pop ups, see what they are and how you can stop them:
Link 1
Link 2

FuzzyMuffin
07-12-2004, 08:58 PM
I searched my computer with adware and found 11 copies of Claria on my computer!!! I sent out complaints to some of the top companies that use Claria.

sepia
07-13-2004, 05:39 AM
I read the links and went back to link 1 and did the complaint form to yahoo. My daughter and I both have yahoo accounts and use it occasionally. whenever I'm on there I do get pop-ups, not too badly, but more than I do here on firefox (where i have never gotten one), especially right after checking prices for tickets on orbitz and hotels on travelociity.
I was thinking about moving all my stuff over to yahoo because of their larger storage--right now I pay for larger storage monthly on MSN--but now I think I'll look elsewhere. I see that Mozilla has some sort of email thing going. I'll look at that.