View Full Version : Kazaa Lite websites removed from Google
AlienChld7
08-31-2003, 09:54 AM
Recently, I was doing a search on Google for something related to Kazaa Lite. Expecting to find the usual http://k-lite.tk link first, I was shocked to see that it was missing. I scrolled down, but no link. Finally, at the bottom of the page, I found an interesting message.
"In response to a complaint we received under the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (http://www.google.com/dmca.html), we have removed 3 result(s) from this page. If you wish, you may read the DMCA complaint (http://www.chillingeffects.org/dmca512/notice.cgi?NoticeID=789) for these removed results."
You can read the removed links there. They include the KL homepage links, as well as zeropaid.
Lion7718
08-31-2003, 10:03 AM
August 11, 2003
Sender Information:
Sharman Networks
Sent by: [Private]
Stubbs Alderton & Markiles, LLP
[private]
Encino, CA, 94136, USA
Recipient Information:
Customer Support, DMCA Complaints
Google Inc.
Mountain View, CA, 94043, USA
Sent via: Federal Express
Re: NOTICE OF COPYRIGHT INFRINGEMENT
Ladies and Gentlemen:
We act on behalf of Sharman Networks, Ltd. (the "Owner").
As required under Sections 512(c)(3) and 512(d)(3) of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (17 U.S.C. §§512(c)(3) and 512(d)(3)), we are instructed to place you on notice that:
1. The Owner is the exclusive owner of the copyrights in and to the Kazaa Media Desktop software (the "KMD"); and
2. Utilizing the search query, "kazaa," at www.google.com, the following search results (the "Infringing Material") contain unauthorized copies of the KMD or unauthorized derivative works of the KMD which infringe the KMD and the exclusive rights of the Owner:
a. http://www.kazaagold.com
b. http://mp3download.com
c. http://www.kazaalite.tk
d. http://www.kaaza.com
e. http://doa2.host.sk
f. http://www.k-lite.tk
g. http://www.kazaa-file-sharing-downloads.com
h. http://www.kazaalite.nl
i. http://home/hccnet.nl/h.edskes/mirror.htm
j. http://www.kazaa-download.de
k. http://www.zeropaid.com
l. http//www.kazaalite.nl/downloads.htm
m. http://kazaa.infos-du-net.com
n. http://www.kazaa-lite.tk
o. http://www.kazaa-lite.info
Please immediately remove or disable all access to the Infringing Material.
I have a good faith belief that the use of the Infringing Material is not authorized by the Owner, its agents or the law. The information in this Notice of Copyright Infringement is accurate and under penalty of perjury, I am authorized to act on behalf of the Owner.
Should you require any further information regarding this matter, please contact me at the address, telephone number or email address indicated below:
Stubbs Alderton & Markiles, LLP
[private]
Encino, California 91436
Tel: (xxx) xxx-xxxx
Email: [private]@biztechlaw.com
Very truly yours,
[private]
image
FAQ: Questions and Answers
[back to notice text]
Question: What are the notice and takedown procedures for web sites?
Answer: In order to have an allegedly infringing web site removed from a service provider's network, the copyright owner must provide notice to the service provider with the following information:
The name, address, and electronic signature of the complaining party [512(c)(3)(A)(i)]
The infringing materials and their Internet location [512(c)(3)(A)(ii-iii)]
Sufficient information to identify the copyrighted works [512(c)(3)(A)(iv)]
A statement by the owner that it has a good faith belief that there is no legal basis for the use of the materials complained of [512(c)(3)(A)(v)]
A statement of the accuracy of the notice and, under penalty of perjury, that the complaining party is authorized to act on the behalf of the owner. [512(c)(3)(A)(vi)]
Once notice is given to the service provider, or in circumstances where the service provider discovers the infringing material itself, it is required to expeditiously remove the material from its network. The safe harbor provisions do not require the service provider to notify the individual responsible for the allegedly infringing material before it has been removed, but they do require notification after the material is removed.
pogue
08-31-2003, 10:57 AM
Sharman networks evoked the DMCA! What kind of hypocrisy is that!
Roadblock
08-31-2003, 11:16 AM
Sharman is obviously selling out, in an effort to legitimize themselves. They are desperately trying to make money from this, and are following the paths of Grokster et. al. I personally hope the whole network goes away, and people move their files (the legitimate files, not the viruses and fakes) on to safer better networks. ;)
Wolfie
08-31-2003, 01:06 PM
With all RIAA potential lawsuits fasttrack is sinking ship anyway. Even they can block k-lite and move kazaa into paid (something like kazaagold) service I doubt the RIAA would stop hounding them and thier users.
EDIT: btw, zp results are still coming up on google so I'm not sure what was meant by zp being in included with k-lite links that google is blocking.
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&q=zeropaid&btnG=Google+Search
Roadblock
08-31-2003, 01:39 PM
Nope, I agree with you Wolfie. It is total control over music distribution that the RIAA is after. They want no one else having anything to do with it. They can say all they want that it is the artists that they are trying to protect. We know better!
I have used this quote from Mel Brooks' "Blazing Saddles" many times before, but it is still appropriate.
"We have to save our phony-balognie jobs gentlemen!"
:cry: :cry: :cry:
AlienChld7
08-31-2003, 04:30 PM
yeah, i noticed that a search for zeropaid still brings up the site. no idea why only some sites are blocked and others are not.
on another note, BLAZING SADDLES IS ONE OF THE FUNNIEST MOVIES EVER!!!!!!!
Imagenyuss
08-31-2003, 06:09 PM
Originally posted by AlienChld7
yeah, i noticed that a search for zeropaid still brings up the site. second that
philgorp
09-01-2003, 09:49 AM
slyck has pulled the link also :eek: :eek: slyck-kazza (http://www.slyck.com/kazaa.php)
slyck-kazzalite (http://www.slyck.com/kl.php)
AlienChld7
09-01-2003, 11:28 AM
silly sharman :P
rctempire
09-07-2003, 09:56 AM
Hmm KaZaA = gone
KaZaA-Gone=No FT Network
KaZaA-Gone-No FT Network=RIAA WIN
that is unfair
kazaa is still an official client and shares legitimate files such as TV shows
This is udder bull LOL
Disturbed_Chaos
09-07-2003, 11:28 AM
Send them a DMCA say your client network contains copyrighted **** . Am sure they wouid shut up then.
vBulletin® v3.6.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Kingdom Hearts ~
Buddy Icons ~
Photo Editing and Image Converter ~
Audio Editor ~
Screensaver Maker
Final Fantasy ~
Free Ringtones ~
Car Blueprints
Wallpapers ~
Emulators ~
Learn Arabic - FreshersHome.com - Jobs in Bangalore