+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Kazaa Lite websites removed from Google

  1. #1
    d00p AlienChld7 is on a distinguished road AlienChld7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    170
    Rep Power
    51

    Kazaa Lite websites removed from Google

    Recently, I was doing a search on Google for something related to Kazaa Lite. Expecting to find the usual http://k-lite.tk link first, I was shocked to see that it was missing. I scrolled down, but no link. Finally, at the bottom of the page, I found an interesting message.

    "In response to a complaint we received under the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, we have removed 3 result(s) from this page. If you wish, you may read the DMCA complaint for these removed results."

    You can read the removed links there. They include the KL homepage links, as well as zeropaid.

  2. #2
    Here & There Lion7718 is a jewel in the rough Lion7718 is a jewel in the rough Lion7718 is a jewel in the rough Lion7718 is a jewel in the rough Lion7718's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    The Lion's Den
    Posts
    2,423
    Rep Power
    100
    August 11, 2003

    Sender Information:
    Sharman Networks
    Sent by: [Private]
    Stubbs Alderton & Markiles, LLP
    [private]
    Encino, CA, 94136, USA



    Recipient Information:
    Customer Support, DMCA Complaints
    Google Inc.
    Mountain View, CA, 94043, USA




    Sent via: Federal Express
    Re: NOTICE OF COPYRIGHT INFRINGEMENT

    Ladies and Gentlemen:

    We act on behalf of Sharman Networks, Ltd. (the "Owner").

    As required under Sections 512(c)(3) and 512(d)(3) of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (17 U.S.C. §§512(c)(3) and 512(d)(3)), we are instructed to place you on notice that:

    1. The Owner is the exclusive owner of the copyrights in and to the Kazaa Media Desktop software (the "KMD"); and

    2. Utilizing the search query, "kazaa," at www.google.com, the following search results (the "Infringing Material") contain unauthorized copies of the KMD or unauthorized derivative works of the KMD which infringe the KMD and the exclusive rights of the Owner:

    a. http://www.kazaagold.com
    b. http://mp3download.com
    c. http://www.kazaalite.tk
    d. http://www.kaaza.com
    e. http://doa2.host.sk
    f. http://www.k-lite.tk
    g. http://www.kazaa-file-sharing-downloads.com
    h. http://www.kazaalite.nl
    i. http://home/hccnet.nl/h.edskes/mirror.htm
    j. http://www.kazaa-download.de
    k. http://www.zeropaid.com
    l. http//www.kazaalite.nl/downloads.htm
    m. http://kazaa.infos-du-net.com
    n. http://www.kazaa-lite.tk
    o. http://www.kazaa-lite.info

    Please immediately remove or disable all access to the Infringing Material.

    I have a good faith belief that the use of the Infringing Material is not authorized by the Owner, its agents or the law. The information in this Notice of Copyright Infringement is accurate and under penalty of perjury, I am authorized to act on behalf of the Owner.

    Should you require any further information regarding this matter, please contact me at the address, telephone number or email address indicated below:

    Stubbs Alderton & Markiles, LLP
    [private]
    Encino, California 91436
    Tel: (xxx) xxx-xxxx
    Email: [private]@biztechlaw.com

    Very truly yours,

    [private]

    image

    FAQ: Questions and Answers
    [back to notice text]


    Question: What are the notice and takedown procedures for web sites?


    Answer: In order to have an allegedly infringing web site removed from a service provider's network, the copyright owner must provide notice to the service provider with the following information:


    The name, address, and electronic signature of the complaining party [512(c)(3)(A)(i)]

    The infringing materials and their Internet location [512(c)(3)(A)(ii-iii)]

    Sufficient information to identify the copyrighted works [512(c)(3)(A)(iv)]

    A statement by the owner that it has a good faith belief that there is no legal basis for the use of the materials complained of [512(c)(3)(A)(v)]

    A statement of the accuracy of the notice and, under penalty of perjury, that the complaining party is authorized to act on the behalf of the owner. [512(c)(3)(A)(vi)]


    Once notice is given to the service provider, or in circumstances where the service provider discovers the infringing material itself, it is required to expeditiously remove the material from its network. The safe harbor provisions do not require the service provider to notify the individual responsible for the allegedly infringing material before it has been removed, but they do require notification after the material is removed.


    Excuses are for people who no longer know the truth

  3. #3
    Cow-in-development pogue is on a distinguished road pogue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    98
    Rep Power
    50
    Sharman networks evoked the DMCA! What kind of hypocrisy is that!

  4. #4
    The Immovable Object Roadblock is on a distinguished road Roadblock's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Roadblock Manor
    Posts
    3,435
    Rep Power
    118

    Sharman is obviously selling out, in an effort to legitimize themselves. They are desperately trying to make money from this, and are following the paths of Grokster et. al. I personally hope the whole network goes away, and people move their files (the legitimate files, not the viruses and fakes) on to safer better networks.

    ~ Proud member of The Mepis Community ~

  5. #5
    P2P Battousai Wolfie is on a distinguished road Wolfie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    432
    Rep Power
    57
    With all RIAA potential lawsuits fasttrack is sinking ship anyway. Even they can block k-lite and move kazaa into paid (something like kazaagold) service I doubt the RIAA would stop hounding them and thier users.

    EDIT: btw, zp results are still coming up on google so I'm not sure what was meant by zp being in included with k-lite links that google is blocking.

    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&i...=Google+Search
    Last edited by Wolfie; 08-31-2003 at 03:31 PM.

  6. #6
    The Immovable Object Roadblock is on a distinguished road Roadblock's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Roadblock Manor
    Posts
    3,435
    Rep Power
    118
    Nope, I agree with you Wolfie. It is total control over music distribution that the RIAA is after. They want no one else having anything to do with it. They can say all they want that it is the artists that they are trying to protect. We know better!

    I have used this quote from Mel Brooks' "Blazing Saddles" many times before, but it is still appropriate.

    "We have to save our phony-balognie jobs gentlemen!"


    ~ Proud member of The Mepis Community ~

  7. #7
    d00p AlienChld7 is on a distinguished road AlienChld7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    170
    Rep Power
    51
    yeah, i noticed that a search for zeropaid still brings up the site. no idea why only some sites are blocked and others are not.

    on another note, BLAZING SADDLES IS ONE OF THE FUNNIEST MOVIES EVER!!!!!!!

  8. #8
    The PWN Imagenyuss is on a distinguished road Imagenyuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    117
    Rep Power
    50
    Originally posted by AlienChld7
    yeah, i noticed that a search for zeropaid still brings up the site.
    second that
    post haec aperuit Iob os suum et maledixit diei suo et locutus est pereat dies in qua natus sum et nox in qua dictum est conceptus est homo dies ille vertatur in tenebras non requirat eum Deus desuper et non inlustret lumine obscurent eum tenebrae et umbra mortis occupet eum caligo et involvatur amaritudine noctem illam tenebrosus turbo possideat non conputetur in diebus anni nec numeretur in mensibus sit nox illa solitaria nec laude digna maledicant ei qui maledicúnt diei qui parati sunt suscitare Leviathan obtenebrentur stellae caligine eius expectet lucem et non videat nec ortum surgentis aurorae

  9. #9
    SEACOW philgorp is on a distinguished road philgorp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,259
    Rep Power
    74
    slyck has pulled the link also slyck-kazza
    slyck-kazzalite
    ODDBALL NEWS ROOM

  10. #10
    d00p AlienChld7 is on a distinguished road AlienChld7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    170
    Rep Power
    51
    silly sharman

  11. #11
    Registered User rctempire is on a distinguished road rctempire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    20
    Rep Power
    48
    Hmm KaZaA = gone
    KaZaA-Gone=No FT Network
    KaZaA-Gone-No FT Network=RIAA WIN

    that is unfair
    kazaa is still an official client and shares legitimate files such as TV shows

    This is udder bull LOL
    Bill Gate's motto: "They're not bugs! They're......features."



  12. #12
    Registered User Disturbed_Chaos is on a distinguished road Disturbed_Chaos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Bolton UK
    Posts
    36
    Rep Power
    49
    Send them a DMCA say your client network contains copyrighted **** . Am sure they wouid shut up then.

+ Reply to Thread

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts